Post by graymouser65 on Nov 1, 2018 4:52:13 GMT -5
I know I am coming late to the party on this one but it is so important in keeping especially non-human Wizards in check power wise.
It says the Wizard can learn a spell of a level higher than his own, not cast a lower level spell at a level higher than his own. So if a 2nd level Wizard can get someone to teach him a 3rd level spell, as long as he has the IQ and Dex requirements for 3rd level spells, he can learn it and cast it for one STR more. He may not cast TTYF at 3rd level. TTYF is a 1st level spell that can be increased in potency by putting more STR into it up to the Wizard’s current level. The 2nd level Wizard can get more out of the lower level TTYF spell if he so chooses because his skill (measured in his level) exceeds the skill necessary to produce the basic spell effect.
I think the use of the word “learn” here is important. The Wizard may “acquire” the higher level spell is what IMO this rule is referring to, which is why it says “by any means necessary.” It would not read like that if the Wizard already had the spell and was casting it at a level higher than his own I don’t think. Also, I know of no where in 5.X does it say that the 2nd level Wizard casting a 1st level TTYF spell at 2nd level effect can only do this if the Wizard meets the requirements IQ and Dex wise for 2nd level spells. It explicitly says that for learning higher level spells though. So to me, the 2nd level TTYF spell effect can be produced as long as the Wizard is 2nd level, and has enough STR to cast it. But, it is essentially still a 1st level spell for IQ and Dex requirements, and cannot be cast at the 3rd level of boosted effect until the Wizard achieves 3rd level, even if the Wizard has the IQ and Dex to cast 3rd level spells.
But perhaps I am being too restrictive in my interpretation of this rule <laugh>.