Hi, first post here. As I peruse the DT&T rules I wonder what advantages the Rogue-Warrior gets? The Rogue-Wizard gets the advantages of using Foci and a reduction of WIZ cost, but does the Rogue-Warrior get the armour and damage increase? It is not explicitly mentioned so I am curious what you think for a House Rule on this.
Post by sonofliefeld on Jul 29, 2015 3:34:51 GMT -5
Welcome to the bridge kyrei, you'll find it says on page 17 of the rules " a warrior rogue would have the warriors armour bonus and weapons bonus, but retains the ability to cast the spells he or she has learned up until that time"
Post by sonofliefeld on Jul 29, 2015 7:05:27 GMT -5
It's not specifically stated, so its up to the Player/ GamesMaster I guess?
Personally I'd go with it being retroactive as a new 7th level magician-rouge gains the advantages of a 7th level mage (like being able to cast a 1st level spell at a -7 wiz reduced cost) so if you're letting a new magician rogue have the bonuses of a level 7 mage then the warrior rogue should get the bonuses of a 7th level warrior.
One of the hardest thing to grok with Tunnels and Trolls is this: What ever works for you. That's it. The rules are not laws, so you can change them, break them, amend them, or interpret them the way you want, for your game. Don't worry about doing it wrong, because if it works for you, then it works for you.
By level 7, most printed solos that I am aware of are no longer of use. So, you are either running group play, or using some kind of GM emulation system. In that case, you, or the GM, can adjust things to make the monsters stay at the right challenge level for either choice. If it's retroactive, ease in harder monsters on average, until the combats are hard enough to meet your needs. If not, you stay on the same progression you were on before.
Post by hrrrothgarrr on Jul 29, 2015 15:43:29 GMT -5
In Deluxe T&T levels are determined by attributes, so it is possible that the formerly level 7 Rogue could be higher level after switching to Warrior. As for the weapon and armour bonus I would count those as a Warrior of current level rather than counting levels since becoming exclusively a warrior. Same for wizards. Mostly because it is less book keeping.
A high level Warrior former Rogue who knows Vorpal Vorpal or Whammy has serious combat monster potential.
That's one change it took me a bit to figure out. ALL stats are used by ALL types for level. In 7/7.5, it used a set of 4 stats, each set different for each type. Now, they are all used by everyone. So, no, a L7 Rogue is not going to become a level 8 Warrior by making the switch, not in Deluxe.
Post by mgtremaine on Oct 12, 2018 11:05:29 GMT -5
I'm way behind the DT&T adoption curve but I'm trying to get myself there before the end of the year. So let me ask if anyone has run rogues above 7th thus far?
I read through the 7th level class choice option and was struck by the idea that a Rogue that makes the choice is going to be a more powerful version of that class (either Warriror-Rogue or Wizard-Rogue) because they get all the benefits of the new class yet retain all the old Rogue benefits up to 7th level.
How has that worked out? In 5th edition War-Wiz did not get full Warriror benefits or Wizard benefits, so it struck me as odd that Rogues do in DT&T, with the only price seeming to be surviving to the 7th level. Obviously I can house rule on that as needed but was just curious for actual play experience with this?