burke
4th Level Troll
Posts: 393
|
Post by burke on Aug 18, 2009 23:46:10 GMT -5
No need to apologize. It's Alwyn's actions I still need. Hopefully apeloverage will check in soon. I would prefer not deciding for him, because it's unclear to me what his plans are.
|
|
|
Post by Porkbelly on Aug 19, 2009 0:18:45 GMT -5
Not to be nitpicking on the berserker rules but when I reduced my 5,6 roll to 5,5 in round 2 I was working on my interpretation of the statement at the bottom of page 13. How does this work?
"If a berserk character does not naturally meet the condition for going berserk on subsequent rounds, the dice roll will be adjusted to meet the conditions. The second lowest die roll will be reduced to the same as the lowest die roll in order to form a double. (Example: A berserk Morningstar user rolls 5, 4, 3, 2. The 3 would be changed to a 2 for an initial total of 13 and the player would re-roll the double.) A character with a one die weapon will start with a 6 for his or her first roll."
|
|
Hogscape
11th level Troll
 
Stalwart of the Trollbridge
It's not the years, it's the mileage.
Posts: 2,126
|
Post by Hogscape on Aug 19, 2009 0:27:45 GMT -5
I've updated the PHB. Spell levels 1-12 are now covered and I've integrated the house rules and clarifications. Brilliant! But where is it? I've checked your website and the original version is still posted (spells to level 5, no/limited housing). 
|
|
Hogscape
11th level Troll
 
Stalwart of the Trollbridge
It's not the years, it's the mileage.
Posts: 2,126
|
Post by Hogscape on Aug 19, 2009 0:31:17 GMT -5
No, I'm ready to concede the point - amazing! I have overplayed the makeshift staff forever - literally since day one many many years ago! But the makeshift staff as magic battery isawfully potent - like too potent. Don't want to hold up the game - will utilize the staff as it is designed to be used - sorry for the hold up. Yep, Makeshift is just a short-lived Staff Ordinaire. For 1 casting point it's worth it's weight in Kremm - but only if you can't afford a 'real' staff/focus. I'm sure we couldn't...
|
|
burke
4th Level Troll
Posts: 393
|
Post by burke on Aug 19, 2009 0:51:39 GMT -5
Brilliant! But where is it? I've checked your website and the original version is still posted (spells to level 5, no/limited housing).  It's there. I just downloaded it to check and it's the new version. Empty your browsers cache and try again.
|
|
burke
4th Level Troll
Posts: 393
|
Post by burke on Aug 19, 2009 0:55:08 GMT -5
Not to be nitpicking on the berserker rules but when I reduced my 5,6 roll to 5,5 in round 2 I was working on my interpretation of the statement at the bottom of page 13. How does this work? That's for when you've already gone berserk (from rolling a natural double). If you don't happen to roll a double on the next round, the dice are adjusted so that you can keep on being berserk.
|
|
|
Post by Porkbelly on Aug 19, 2009 1:27:05 GMT -5
Ah, cool. I get it now... thanks!
|
|
danhem
5th Level Troll
Posts: 731
|
Post by danhem on Aug 29, 2009 23:09:17 GMT -5
I'll be out of town from Sunday, August 30 to Sunday September 6. I'll likely be able to post every other day during that time.
|
|
danhem
5th Level Troll
Posts: 731
|
Post by danhem on Sept 9, 2009 16:15:23 GMT -5
With respect to the Vorpal Blade spell, does it only double the result of the weapons dice or does is also double the weapons adds? I've seen it played both ways.
|
|
burke
4th Level Troll
Posts: 393
|
Post by burke on Sept 10, 2009 4:25:53 GMT -5
The 1st ed. text says, "doubles basic attack die roll". I've takent that to mean double the number of dice rolled, i.e. a person with a 2 dice weapon rolls 4 dice. But of course it could mean, double the result of the die roll, as well or double dice and adds.
But last time someone used a vorpal blade I think we just doubled the number of dice rolled. What do you think?
|
|
Hogscape
11th level Troll
 
Stalwart of the Trollbridge
It's not the years, it's the mileage.
Posts: 2,126
|
Post by Hogscape on Sept 10, 2009 6:01:07 GMT -5
5e says 'doubles basic attack die roll'. I suspect the intention is that it doubles the total of weapon dice plus weapon add but does not apply to the character's combat adds...
|
|
burke
4th Level Troll
Posts: 393
|
Post by burke on Sept 10, 2009 14:07:46 GMT -5
OK, I think we'll go with Hogscape's interpretation. The result of the weapons die roll (including weapon adds) is doubled. This means that Charles attack is doubled twice this combat round!
|
|
Hogscape
11th level Troll
 
Stalwart of the Trollbridge
It's not the years, it's the mileage.
Posts: 2,126
|
Post by Hogscape on Sept 10, 2009 21:31:12 GMT -5
It makes sense - VB is a first level spell so very handy for first-levellers but a mere drop in the ocean if you have 30+ combat adds of your own.
|
|
Hogscape
11th level Troll
 
Stalwart of the Trollbridge
It's not the years, it's the mileage.
Posts: 2,126
|
Post by Hogscape on Sept 23, 2009 6:19:39 GMT -5
Game: Awesome
Map: Awesome
Map with GM room numbers: Double awesome...
Any chance?
|
|
burke
4th Level Troll
Posts: 393
|
Post by burke on Sept 23, 2009 11:15:11 GMT -5
Map with GM room numbers: Double awesome... Any chance? Do you mean that Salass00 should number his map arbitrarily, or that I should reveal the numbers according to my key? Has anyone by the way recognized the dungeon map? I've made some changes to it, but I did not draw it myself. I have been waiting for some know it all old schooler to recognize it. 
|
|